My First Blog Post on The Dukarian Legacy

I have had the story of The Dukarian Legacy in my head for years before I finally decided to write it down.  And I finally did write it down about ten years ago.  Yes, ten long years ago when I was working as a 911 operator.  It started out as one book, but then turned into three.  The story has now grown to nine.  Only three are written, but I have good detailed outlines of the next six.

So why aren’t my books published yet?  After I wrote the first book, The Third Dragon, I tried to go through a literary agent.  After about four years of paying thousands of dollars, I realized I was being cheated.  So I started looking for other avenues.  My stepfather wrote a book and published it at Lulu.com.  Sounded great to me, but I wanted to perfect my book first.  I spend another few years editing and revising the story.  I have also spent time writing the two sequels, The Raven’s Fire and The Dragon and the Lion.

Now, in 2011, the editing is finally done!  Now what?  I have a book called, Start Your Own Self-Publishing Business, and started reading it.  Within a few chapters I realized that I still have a long way to go.  I still need front matter like a dedication, acknowledgements, and forward.  And I still need back matter such as author bio and possibly an afterward.  I also need to consider design elements such as margins, chapter heads, font, etc.  And, due to the expensive cost of printing a book, should I consider an e-book instead of a full-fledged paperback?

There are so many things to think about and I am not sure where to start.  I suppose I will read the Self-Publishing book in its entirety first.  Then work on some of the important elements like front and back matter.

Leave a Reply

