Sci-Fi / Fantasy Authors Who Inspired Me to Write

The Sword of Truth, Boxed Set I, Books 1-3: Wizard's First Rule, Blood of the Fold ,Stone of Tears

Books, movies, and television opened my imagination and inspired me to write my own fantasy novel.  So who are the great sci-fi and fantasy authors who inspired me?  No, not the author of Harry Potter.  Although I do like Harry Potter, I wrote my first book before I ever even knew who Harry Potter was.

The first fantasy author I read was J. R. Tolkien.  I loved The Hobbit!  Lord of the Rings was a bit difficult for me to get through when I was young, so it wasn’t my favorite then.  But when I was older and read it again, I loved it even more than The Hobbit.

The first sci-fi author I read was Isaac Asimov.  I can’t remember any one story specifically.  He wrote so many.  But as soon as I was done with one, I’d go back to the library and get another.

I also love books by Frank Herbert, Jack Whyte, David Farland, Terry Brooks, Jennifer Fallon, and Brent Weeks.  Patrick Rothfuss wrote a great fantasy novel, “The Name of the Wind”.  His next book, “The Wise Man’s Fear” is finally out and I am waiting in anticipation for my Amazon order to arrive.

My all-time favorite fantasy author and epic series is the “Sword of Truth” series by Terry Goodkind.  Robert Jordan’s epic series “The Wheel of Time” is also great, but I sort of lost interest in the long delay after book eleven.

Find all these books at my Amazon a-store at http://astore.amazon.com/fantasyauthors-20.

Will you recommend some other great fantasy authors?

Leave a Reply

